17G_8963.jpg
 
Martyrs Felix, Regula and Exuperantius of Zurich († 4th century)

Felix and Regula were members of the Theban Legion. Together with their servant Exuperantius, they came to Glarnerland via the Klausen Pass. They then went to Turicum (Zurich), where they settled and served God. Because of their faith, they were beheaded at the site of the Wasserkirche in Zurich. They carried their heads 40 cubits up the embankment to where the Grossmünster stands today. Her memorial day is September 11 (24).

Troparion (Tone 2): Great are the accomplishments of faith. You have defied the tyrant, and in death you have witnessed life. Holy martyrs Felix, Regula and Exuperantius, pray to Christ our God to save our souls.

Places of pilgrimage: Andermatt , Zurich,  Linthal

Prayers to the Zurich city saints

Venerable Jola (also: Yole) († 5 cent.)

Jola was the sister of Romanus and Lupicinus and lived as a pious virgin in the convent at La Beaume (Saint-Romain-de-Roche), of which she presided as abbess. No special day of remembrance.


Venerable Eugendus (also: Oyend) of Condat († around 513)

At the age of seven, Eugendus was accepted as an oblate by Romanus and Lupicinus into the monastery of Condat, which he later led as abbot. Highly educated, he was a great ascetic, devoted much to prayer and spiritual contemplation. Out of humility he never accepted priestly ordination. He is revered as a miracle worker. His feast day is January 1 (14).

Troparion (Tone 1): You were a companion of Saints Romanus and Lupicinus and were elected abbot in the Jura, in the monastery of Condat, without being a priest. God granted you the bounty of healing and you became an admirable father to your monks. Saint Eugendus, ask God to have mercy on our souls!


Venerable Lupicinus of Condat († 480)

Lupicinus was first married, but later went to live with his brother Romanus in a valley in the Jura, in the wilderness, to lead a life of prayer and austerity. Among other things, they founded the Condat monastery, which is located in today's St-Claude. Lupicinus was considered an authority and a great role model for the other monks in the monastery. His feats day is March 21 (April 3).

Troparion (2nd tone): You admirer of the desert fathers of old, near the river Bienne you lived like one of them. Disciples came to you, and so you founded the monasteries of Condat and Leucone, which you led with your brother, Saint Romanus. Holy Lupicinus, ask God to have mercy on us!

Place of pilgrimage: St. Lupicin (FR)

Venerable Romanus of Condat († 463)

Romanus was the brother of Lupicinus and came from Burgundy. He was first a monk in Ainay (Lyon) under Abbot Sabinus. He then decided to live as a hermit in what is now Romainmôtier, where he later founded the oldest monastery in Switzerland. At the end of his life he was revered as a miracle healer. His feast day is February 28 (March 13).

Troparion (1st tone): You admirer of the desert fathers of old, with your beloved brother, Saint Lupicinus, you founded the famous monastery of Condat in the mountains of the Jura and, at a distance, that of Leucone. Saint Romanus, pray Christ to have mercy on us!

Places of pilgrimage: Pratz (FR),  St. Lupicin (FR) , Romainmôtier

17G_8963.jpg
 
Märtyrer Felix, Regula und Exuperantius von Zürich († 4. Jhd. )

Felix und Regula waren Mitglieder der thebäischen Legion. Gemeinsam mit ihrem Diener Exuperantius kamen sie über den Klausenpass ins Glarnerland. Darauf gingen sie nach Turicum (Zürich), wo sie sich niederliessen und Gott dienten. Wegen ihres Glaubens wurden sie am Ort der Wasserkirche in Zürich enthauptet. Sie trugen ihre Köpfe 40 Ellen die Uferböschung hoch, dorthin, wo heute das Grossmünster steht. Ihr Gedenktag ist der 11. (24.) September.

Troparion (2. Ton): Gross ist das Vermögen des Glaubens. Dem Tyrannen habt ihr die Stirn geboten und im Tode habt ihr das Leben bezeugt, heilige Märtyrer Felix, Regula und Exuperantius, bittet Christus, unsern Gott, dass Er errette unsere Seelen.

Pilgerorte: Andermatt, Zürich, Linthal

Gebete zu den Zürcher Stadtheiligen

Ehrwürdige Jola (auch: Yole) († 5 Jhd.)

Jola war die Schwester des Romanus und Lupicinus und lebte als fromme Jungfrau im Frauenkloster in La-Beaume (Saint-Romain-de-Roche), dem sie als Äbtissin vorstand. Kein eigener Gedenktag.


Ehrwürdiger Eugendus (auch: Oyend) von Condat († um 513)

Mit sieben Jahre wurde Eugendus als Oblate von Romanus und Lupicinus ins Kloster Condat aufgenommen, das er später als Abt leitete. Er war hoch gebildet und ein grosser Asket, der sich viel dem Gebet und der geistlichen Kontemplation widmete. Aus Demut nahm er nie die Priesterweihe an. Er wird als Wundertäter verehrt. Sein Gedenktag ist der 1. (14.) Januar.


Ehrwürdiger Lupicinus (auch: Lupizin) von Condat († 480)

Lupicinus war zuerst verheiratet, begab sich aber später zu seinem Bruder Romanus in ein Tal im Jura in die Einöde, um dort ein Leben im Gebet und Enthaltsamkeit zu führen. Sie gründeten u.a. das Kloster Condat, das sich im heutigen St-Claude befindet. Lupicinus galt den anderen Mönchen im Kloster als Autorität und grosses Vorbild. Gedenktag ist der 21. März (3. April).

Troparion (2. Ton): Du Bewunderer der Wüstenväter von einst, nahe des Flusses Bienne lebtest du wie einer von ihnen. Es kamen Jünger zu dir, und so gründetest du die Klöster von Condat und Leucone, welche Du leitetest mit deinem Bruder, dem heiligen Romanus. Heiliger Lupicinus, bitte Gott, sich über uns zu erbarmen!

Pilgerort: St. Lupicin (FR)

Ehrwürdiger Romanus von Condat († 463)

Romanus war der Bruder von Lupicinus und stammte aus dem Burgund. Er war zunächst Mönch in Ainay (Lyon) unter dem Abt Sabinus. Danach er entschied sich für ein Einsiedlerleben im heutigen Romainmôtier, wo er später auch das älteste Kloster der Schweiz gründete. Am Ende seines Lebens wurde er als Wunderheiler verehrt. Gedenktag ist der 28. Februar (13. März).

Troparion (1. Ton): Du Bewunderer der Wüstenväter von einst, mit deinem geliebten Bruder, dem heiligen Lupicinus, gründetest Du in den Bergen des Jura das berühmte Kloster von Condat und in einiger Entfernung jenes von Leucone. Heiliger Romanus, bitte Christus, Er möge sich unser erbarmen!

Pilgerorte: Pratz (FR), St. Lupicin (FR), Romainmôtier