Ikone7.png
 
Venerable Columbanus the Younger († 615)

With twelve students - including Gallus - Columbanus set put from the Irish monastery of Bangor to France. There they were able to found the monasteries of Luxeuil, Annegray and Fontaines, but had to move on because of disagreements with secular and ecclesiastical authorities. They had to abort their planned return to Ireland because of a storm. Instead, they went to Switzerland and christianized Tuggen on Lake Zurich and Bregenz on Lake Constance. In 612, Columbanus and his students moved on to Northern Italy, where he founded the Bobbio Monastery. His feast day is November 23 (December 6).

Troparion (Tone 5): Ireland may boast, O venerable Columbanus, of having born and nurtured you  and witnessed your first ascetic struggles. The French lands rejoice greatly in you, for you adorned them with cloisters as with a diadem of precious stones. Switzerland glorifies you, enlightened by your disciples. With them the Italian lands unite in chorus to celebrate your honored memory, for from their midst you passed into the heavenly homeland.

Venerable Magnus (also: Maginold or Magnoald), apostle of the Allgäu († 650)

Magnus was a devoted disciple of St Gallus and was believed to be of Iro-Scottish descent. After Gallus, he is considered the second abbot of the monastery in St. Gallen. He is credited wioth enlarging pastoral care in his region. He is also referred to as the apostle and patron saint of the Allgäu. There is an arm relic of the venerable Magnus in St. Gallen. His veneration as a saint and miracle worker spread to Switzerland and southern Germany. His memorial day is September 6 (19).

Troparion (Tone 3): As a devout disciple of Saint Gallus in Swabia, you became an impeccable athlete of ascesis in sermon, prayer and fasting. You founded the monastery in Füssen before you passed away peacefully in heaven. Holy Magnus, pray Christ our Lord that He save our souls.

Venerable Martyr Eusebius von Rankweil († 884)

Eusebius was from Ireland. He came to St. Gallen as a pilgrim and settled there as a monk in the Benedictine monastery. He later lived as a hermit on what is now Viktorsberg near Feldkirch for 30 years. He had the gift of clairvoyance and prophecy. He worked miracles and healed the sick. Also, Emperor Charles III. got advice from him. His memorial day is January 31 (February 13).

Troparion (5th tone): You came from Ireland to preach the gospel, became a monk in Sankt Gallen and moved on to Viktorsberg as a hermit. There you denounced the vices of the residents, and instead of reforming, they helped you to martyrdom. Saint Eusebius, pray to God to have mercy on our souls.

Venerable Gall, enlightener of Switzerland († 646)

When Columbanus moved on to northern Italy with his students, Gallus stayed behind probably because of a dispute. Saint Columbanus imposed a ban on preaching and liturgy on Gallus, which Gallus strictly adhered to during his teacher's lifetime. At the place of today's Abbey of Saint Gall, Gall and Magnus built a hermitage. Because of his charity, love of nature - he was friends with a bear - and miracles, Gallus was highly regarded by the people. It is also said that he was the first missionary in Central Europe who preached in the vernacular. In old age, Columbanus was reconciled with his pupil, allowing him to resume priestly activity by sending his abbot's staff. Gallus went to Arbon, where he died after his first sermon. His relics are in the monastery church of St. Gallen. His feast day is October 16 (29).

Troparion (Tone 4): You proclaimed with the prophet, O Gallus: I lifted up my eyes to the mountains, from which comes my help. Thus rang out your prayers and hymns over the mountains of Switzerland, sending down streams of grace to those who dwell in their midst. O venerable father, ask him who made the mountains that our souls find grace.

More prayers to Ven. Gallus and all venerable Sankt Gallen

Place of pilgrimage: Sankt Gallen

Venerable Tutilo (also: Tutelo or Tuotilo) of St. Gallen († 913)

Tutilo was a monk in the monastery of St. Gallen - brother of Notker the Stammerer - and a gifted artist - painter, poet, goldsmith and musician - who put his gift into the service of God and his fellow human beings into his old age. His ivory carvings on the Gospel Longum and his compositions survive to this day. Many prayers were answered at his grave in the monastery church. His feast day is April 27 (May 10).

Troparion (5th tone): A man of many gifts, you left the world to follow the narrow path of the gospel. You became a monk in the Abbey of Saint Gall and put your numerous talents at the service of the Master of souls before you found your soul again in His holy realm. Holy Tutilo, ask Christ to save our souls!

Place of pilgrimage: Sankt Gallen


Venerable Otmar of St. Gallen († 759)

Otmar came from Goldach and was of Alemannic origin. He was tasked to rebuild Gallus' neglected cell, thus founding the monastery of St. Gall in 719. Soon after, the monastery experienced strong growth. In addition to his monastic building activities, Otmar took great care of the sick and needy and founded the first hospital in what is now Switzerland. When the Duchy of Alemannia was finally taken over by the Franks in 746, there were disputes about the monastery's land ownership. Slandered by his opponents, Otmar was convicted and banished to the island of Werd near Stein am Rhein, where he died. His relicts were later returned to St. Gallen. Many miracles followed at his grave.  His feast day is November 16 (29).

Troparion (Tone 4): You were a priest of the church of St. Florin before you became abbot in Saint Gall. You despised the riches of this vain world. You fell victim to slander, and in exile you closed your life that was centred only on the Lord. Saint Otmar, entreat Christ our God to save our souls!

Place of pilgrimage: Sankt Gallen

Venerable Notker the Stammler († 912)

The humorous Notker came from a noble family in Jonschwil. Because he was born with a tooth defect, he could not speak clearly. He became a monk in Saint Gall and later head of the monastery school. Notker was the most important spiritual poet of the Middle Ages, who revolutionized poetry and wrote and composed many excellent works. In this way, he initiated the cultural flowering of his monastery, to which his confreres Tutilo and Rapert also contributed. From the 8th to the 11th century, the St. Gallen Monastery was one of the most important cultural centres in the West. His memorial day is April 6 (19).

Troparion (2nd tone): As a devout monk of the holy abbey of Saint Gal you led a virtuous Christian life. Immersed in prayer, ascesis and song, you enriched the Church with your music and with the prayers you composed for her. Holy Notker, pray to God to save our souls!

Place of pilgrimage: Sankt Gallen

Ikone7.png
 
Ehrwürdiger Kolumban der Jüngere († 615)

Mit zwölf Schülern – darunter Gallus – brach Kolumban vom irischen Kloster Bangor nach Frankreich auf. Dort konnten sie zwar die Klöster Luxeuil, Annegray und Fontaines gründen, mussten aber wegen Uneinigkeiten mit weltlichen und kirchlichen Obrigkeiten weiterziehen. Die geplante Rückkehr nach Irland brachen sie wegen eines Sturmes ab. So begaben sie sich in die Schweiz und christianisierten Tuggen am Obersee und Bregenz am Bodensee. 612 zog Kolumban mit seinen Schülern weiter nach Oberitalien, wo er das Kloster Bobbio gründete. Sein Gedenktag ist der 23. November (6. Dezember).

Ehrwürdiger Magnus (auch: Maginold oder Magnoald), Apostel des Allgäus († 650)

Magnus war ein treuer Schüler des heiligen Gallus und war vermutlich iroschottischer Abstammung. Er gilt nach Gallus als zweiter Abt des Klosters in St. Gallen. Ihm wird die Gründung vieler Seelsorgestellen zugeschrieben. Er wird auch als Apostel und Schutzpatron des Allgäus bezeichnet. Vom ehrwürdigen Magnus gibt es eine Armreliquie in St. Gallen. Seine Verehrung als Heiliger und Wundertäter breitete sich in der Schweiz und Süddeutschland aus. Sein Gedenktag ist der 6. (19.) September.

Mönchsmärtyrer Eusebius von Rankweil († 884)

Eusebius stammte aus Irland. Er kam als Pilger nach St. Gallen und liess sich dort als Mönch im Benediktinerkloster nieder. Später lebte er 30 Jahre lang als Einsiedler auf dem heutigen Viktorsberg bei Feldkirch. Er hatte die Gabe der Hellsichtigkeit und der Prophetie. Er wirkte Wunder und heilte Kranke. Auch soll sich Kaiser Karl III. Ratschläge bei ihm geholt haben. Sein Gedenktag ist der 31. Januar (13. Februar).

Ehrwürdiger Gallus, Erleuchter der Schweiz († 646)

Als Kolumban mit seinen Schülern weiter nach Oberitalien zog, blieb Gallus vermutlich wegen eines Disputs zurück. Der Heilige Kolumban belegte Gallus mit einem Predigt- und Liturgieverbot, an welches dieser sich zu Lebzeiten seines Lehrers auch strikte hielt. Dort wo die heutige Abtei St. Gallen steht, errichtete Gallus zusammen mit Magnus eine Einsiedlerklause. Durch seine Mildtätigkeit, Naturverbundenheit – er war mit einem Bären befreundet – und Wundertätigkeit war Gallus beim Volk hoch angesehen. Ihm wird auch nachgesagt, dass er in Mitteleuropa der erste Missionar war, der auch in der Volkssprache predigte. Im hohen Alter versöhnte sich Kolumban mit seinem Schüler und erlaubte ihm durch die Zusendung seines Abtsstabs wieder die priesterliche Tätigkeit. Gallus ging nach Arbon, wo er nach einer Predigt verstarb. Seine Reliquien befinden sich in der Klosterkirche von St. Gallen. Gedenktag ist der 16. (29.) Oktober.

Troparion (4. Ton): Mit dem Propheten hast Du verkündet, o Gallus: Ich richtete meine Augen hinauf zu den Bergen, von welchen mir Hilfe kommt. So erschallten deine Gebete und Hymnen über den Bergen der Schweiz, Ströme der Gnade herab sendend auf diejenigen, die in ihrer Mitte wohnen. Oh ehrwürdiger Vater, bitte Ihn, der die Berge erschaffen hat, dass Gnade finden unsere Seelen.

Weitere Gebete zum Ehrw. Gallus

Pilgerort: Sankt Gallen

Ehrwürdiger Tutilo (auch: Tutelo oder Tuotilo) von St. Gallen († 913)

Tutilo war ein Mönch im Kloster St. Gallen - Mitbruder von Notker dem Stammler - und ein begnadeter Künstler – Maler, Dichter, Goldschmied und Musiker – der seine Gabe bis ins hohe Alter in den Dienst Gottes und seiner Mitmenschen stellte. Seine Elfenbeinschnitzereien am Evangelium Longum und seine Kompositionen sind heute noch erhalten. An seinem Grab in der Klosterkirche geschahen viele Gebetserhörungen. Gedenktag ist der 27. April ( 10. Mai).

Troparion (5. Ton): Als Mann mit vielen Begabungen verließest Du die Welt, um dem schmalen Pfad des Evangeliums zu folgen. Mönch wurdest du in der Abtei von Sankt Gallen und stelltest Deine zahlreichen Talente in den Dienst des Meisters der Seelen, ehe du deine Seele wiederfandest in Seinem heiligen Reich. Heiliger Tutilo, bitte Christus, unsere Seelen zu erretten!

Pilgerort: Sankt Gallen


Ehrwürdiger Otmar von St. Gallen († 759)

Otmar stammte aus Goldach und war alemannischer Herkunft. Er bekam den Auftrag, die vernachlässigte Zelle von Gallus neu aufzubauen. So kam es 719 zur Gründung des Klosters St. Gallen. Bald darauf erfuhr das Kloster ein starkes Wachstum. Nebst seiner klösterlichen Bautätigkeit sorgte sich Otmar sehr für Kranke und Bedürftige und gründete das erste Spital in der heutigen Schweiz. Als das Herzogtum Alemannien 746 endgültig von den Franken übernommen worden war, kam es zu Streitigkeiten um den Landbesitz des Klosters. Von seinen Gegnern verleumdet, wurde Otmar verurteilt und auf die Insel Werd bei Stein am Rhein verbannt, wo er verstarb. Später wurden seine Gebeine nach St. Gallen zurückgeführt. An seinem Grab geschahen in der Folge viele Wunder. Seine Reliquien befinden sich in der Klosterkirche. Gedenktag ist der 16. (29.) November.

Troparion (4. Ton): Du warst Priester der Kirche des heiligen Florin, ehe du Abt in St. Gallen wurdest. Die Reichtümer dieser eitlen Welt verachtetest du. Du fielst der Verleumdung zum Opfer, und im Exil beschlossest du dein Leben, das nur auf den Herrn ausgerichtet war. Heiliger Otmar,  bitte Christus unseren Gott, unsere Seelen zu erretten!

Pilgerort: Sankt Gallen

Ehrwürdiger Notker der Stammler († 912)

Der humorvolle Notker stammte aus einer adeligen Familie in Jonschwil. Weil er mit einem Zahnfehler geboren wurde, konnte er nicht deutlich sprechen. In St. Gallen wurde er Mönch und später Leiter der Klosterschule. Notker war der bedeutendste geistliche Lyriker des Mittelalters, der die Dichtkunst revolutionierte und viele ausgezeichnete Werke schrieb und komponierte. Er leitete so die kulturelle Blüte seines Klosters ein, wozu auch seine Mitbrüder Tutilo und Rapert beitrugen. Das Kloster St. Gallen gilt für die Zeit vom 8. bis zum 11. Jhd. als eines der wichtigsten Kulturzentren des Abendlandes. Notkers Reliquien liegen in der Klosterkirche. Sein Gedenktag ist der 6. (19.) April.

Troparion (2. Ton): Als frommer Mönch der geheiligten Abtei von Sankt Gallen führtest du ein tugendhaftes christliches Leben. Eingetaucht ins Gebet, in die Askese und den Gesang hast du die Kirche mit deiner Musik bereichert  und mit Gebeten, die Du für sie komponiert hast. Heiliger Notker, bitte Gott, dass Er unsere Seelen errette!

Pilgerort: Sankt Gallen