17G_8925.jpg
 
Monk martyr Meinrad (also: Meginrad or Megimad) († 861)

The Reichenau heiromonk Meinrad became a hermit on the Etzel-Pass south of Lake Zurich. Because of the great onslaught of people seeking advice, he withdrew even further into the forest - to the place where Einsiedeln Abbey stands today. Meinrad practiced strict asceticism and passed on the many presents he had received from grateful pilgrims to the poor in the area. Nevertheless, he was murdered by robbers n the hope of rich booty after offering them hospitality. He is therefore considered the “martyr of hospitality”. His feast day is January 21 (February 3).

Troparion (Tone 8e): You left behind your noble birth, / and renounced the world for God, / to seek His peace in ascesis. / You gave up your life and found the kingdom. / holy monk-martyr Meinrad // pray to God for our souls.

More prayers to St. Meinrad

Place of pilgrimage for all the saints on this page: Einsiedeln

Hierarch Benno, Bishop of Metz († 940)

The Swabian nobleman Benno became a hermit in Einsiedeln and is considered the founder of the monastery there together with St. Eberhard. In 927 he was appointed bishop of Metz by Henry I, but was blinded by opponents of the king and retired to Einsiedeln in 929. Memorial day is August 3 (16).

Troparion (Tone 5): You walked towards the kingdom of heaven, first as a monk, then you were made bishop in order to reestablish the church in the diocese of Metz. Wicked people blinded and mutilated you, but you forgave them and became a monk again. Saint Benno, who are kind, pray to God for our souls!

Venerable Eberhard von Einsiedeln († 958)

The Swabian nobleman Eberhard was initially provost at the cathedral in Strasbourg, but then moved to Einsiedeln with his brother Benno. There he united the hermits living in the dark forest to form the Einsiedeln monastery, in which he and Benno invested their entire fortune. Eberhard became the first abbot of the new monastery. His feast day is August 14 (27).


Troparion (Tone 6): Son of Swabia and priest in the city of Strasbourg, you joined Saint Benno when he went into the desert, and he persuaded you to leave this vain world. So you set about completing the building of the monastery, of which you then became abbot. Saint Eberhard, ask Christ to have mercy on us!

Venerable Gregory of Einsiedeln († 996)

Gregory was the third abbot at Einsiedeln Abbey. He managed to increase the monastery's property significantly. In addition, his treatise on monastic life had a lasting influence on monasticism in southern Germany. His feast day is November 8th (21st).

Troparion (Tone 5): Although you were a glorious scion of England, you first became a monk in the city of Rome before finally settling in Einsiedeln. Because of your piety you became abbot of the monastery, and your holy relics work wonders. Saint Gregory, ask Christ to save our souls!


Venerable Thietland of Zurich and Einsiedeln († 964/966)

Thietland was dean at the Grossmünster in Zurich and later a monk at the Einsiedeln monastery. He was elected abbot of Einsiedeln as successor to the founding abbot Eberhard. He obtained immunity from Emperor Otto for the monastery and the right to elect abbots. His interpretation of Paul's letters has been handed down to us. His feast day is May 28 (June 10).

Troparion (Tone 3): In Einsiedeln you led a pious life before you returned to the kingdom of God. Through asceticism, prayer and fasting, you helped the abbot of the holy monastery to raise his spiritual sheep. Venerable Thietland, pray to God to save our souls!

17G_8925.jpg
 
Mönchsmärtyrer Meinrad (auch: Meginrad oder Megimad) († 861)

Der Reichenauer Mönchspriester Meinrad wurde am Etzelpass südlich des Zürichsees Einsiedler. Wegen des grossen Ansturms an Ratsuchenden zog er sich noch weiter in den Wald zurück - dorthin, wo heute das Kloster Einsiedeln steht. Meinrad übte eine strenge Askese und gab die vielen Geschenke, welche er von dankbaren Pilgern erhalten hatte, an die Armen der Umgebung weiter. Dennoch wurde er wurde von Räubern in der Hoffnung auf reiche Beute ermordet, nachdem er sie bei sich aufgenommen hatte. Er gilt deswegen als “Märtyrer der Gastfreundschaft”. Gedenktag ist der 21. Januar (3. Februar).

Troparion (8. Ton): Deine noble Geburt hast du zurückgelassen, / der Welt hast du für Gott entsagt, / um Seinen Frieden in der Askese zu suchen. / Du hast dein Leben gelassen und das Königtum gefunden. / heiliger Mönchsmärtyrer Meinrad // bitte zu Gott für unsere Seelen.

Weitere Gebete zum Hl. Meinrad

Pilgerort aller Heiligen dieser Seite: Einsiedeln

Hierarch Benno, Bischof von Metz († 940)

Der schwäbische Adelige Benno wurde Eremit in Einsiedeln und ist zusammen mit dem Hl. Eberhard Gründer des dortigen Klosters. Im Jahre 927 wurde er von Heinrich I. zum Bischof von Metz berufen, wurde aber von Gegnern des Königs geblendet und zog sich 929 nach Einsiedeln zurück. Gedenktag ist der 3. (16.) August.

Troparion (5. Ton): Zum Himmelreich hin wandeltest Du, zuerst als Mönch, dann machte man dich zum Bischof, um die Kirche im Bistum Metz wieder aufzurichten. Ruchlose Menschen blendeten und verstümmelten dich, doch du vergabst ihnen und wurdest wieder Mönch. Heiliger Benno, der du gütig bist, bete zu Gott für unsere Seelen!

Ehrwürdiger Eberhard von Einsiedeln († 958)

Der sächsische Adlige Eberhard war zunächst Propst am Dom in Strassburg, zog dann aber mit Mitbruder Benno nach Einsiedeln. Dort vereinigte er die im finsteren Wald lebenden Eremiten zum Kloster Einsiedeln, in dessen Aufbau er und Benno ihr ganzes Vermögen investierten. Eberhard wurde zum ersten Abt des neuen Klosters. Gedenktag ist der 14. (27.) August.


Troparion (6. Ton): Sohn Schwabens und Priester in der Stadt Straßburg, dem heiligen Benno schlossest du dich an, als er in die Wüste ging, und er überzeugte dich, diese eitle Welt zu verlassen. So machtest du dich daran, den Bau des Klosters zu vollenden, dessen Abt du dann wurdest. Heiliger Eberhard, bitte Christus, dass Er mit uns Erbarmen habe!

Ehrwürdiger Gregor von Einsiedeln († 996)

Gregor war der dritte Abt im Kloster Einsiedeln. Unter seiner Leitung wurde der Klosterbesitz stark vermehrt. Seine Aufzeichnungen über das Klosterleben beeinflussten das klösterliche Leben in Süddeutschland nachhaltig. Gedenktag ist der 8. (21.) November.

Troparion (5. Ton): Obgleich du ein ruhmreicher Spross Englands warst, wurdest du zuerst Mönch in der Stadt Rom, bevor du dich schließlich in Einsiedeln niederließest. Aufgrund deiner Frömmigkeit wurdest du Abt [des Klosters], und deine heiligen Reliquien wirken Wunder. Heiliger Gregor, bitte Christus, unsere Seelen zu erretten!


Ehrwürdiger Thietland von Zürich und Einsiedeln († 964/966)

Thietland war Dekan am Grossmünster in Zürich und später Mönch des Klosters Einsiedeln. Er wurde als Nachfolger des Gründerabts Eberhard zum Abt von Einsiedeln gewählt. Er erreichte von Kaiser Otto für das Kloster Immunität und das Recht der Abtwahl. Von Thietland ist eine Auslegung der Paulusbriefe überliefert. Gedenktag ist der 28. Mai (10. Juni).

Troparion (3. Ton): In Einsiedeln führtest du ein frommes Leben, ehe du zurückkehrtest in das Reich Gottes. Durch Askese, Gebet und Fasten halfst du dem Abt des heiligen Klosters dabei, seine geistlichen Schafe aufzuziehen. Ehrwürdiger Thietland, bitte Gott, dass Er unsere Seelen errette!