17G_8928.jpg
 
Hieromartyr Lucius, Bishop of Chur († around 180)

Lucius was a king of Britanni who left his homeland to preach the gospel in Augsburg and Raetia (Grisons). He was the first bishop of Chur and suffered there for the faith. His feast day is December 2nd (15th).

Troparion (Tone 5): Your life was only fully known to the Lord: You led a life of asceticism and prayer, far away from this world and its vain activities; you lived in a grotto and preached the gospel before you were accepted into the ranks of the martyrs. Saint Lucius, ask Christ God to save our souls!

Place of pilgrimage: Chur

Prayers to St. Lucius and St. Emerita

Hierarch Ursicinus, Bishop of Chur († 760)

Ursicinus founded the Disentis monastery, which he headed as abbot until his enthronement as Bishop of Chur. However, he then renounced the office of bishop and withdrew to his hermitage. His feast day is October 2nd (15th).

Troparion (Tone 4): Your life was often hidden from the eyes of the world: you lived for God in prayer and asceticism. You were a monk in the Disentis Abbey before you ascended to the cathedra in Chur and finally became a hermit, renouncing everything. Saint Ursicinus, pray to Christ to save our souls.


Martyr Emerita of Trimmis († around 170)

Emerita was the sister of St. Lucius, with whom she came to Raetia. In Trimmis she was beaten with fists and clubs and suffered martyrdom by death by fire. Today the Emerita Church stands at the site of her martyrdom. Memorial Day is December 4 (17th).

Troparion (Tone 8): Sister of the holy bishop and martyr of Christ Lucius: You were a perfect example of love. First with your brother and then in Trimmis, where you became a hermit. Holy Emerita, ask God to save our souls! 

Place of pilgrimage: Chur, Trimmis


Hierarch Asinio, Bishop of Chur († 5th century)

Asinio is the first documented bishop of Chur. He was listed as a participant in the files of the Synod of Milan from 451. His feast day is June 9 (24).

Troparion (Tone 1): You were one of the first hierarchs in Grisons and took part in the Council of Milan before you entered the kingdom of the Lord. You were a good shepherd of the Orthodox Church, leading your spiritual flock to Christ. Saint Asinio, pray to God to save our souls.

Hierarch Valentinian, Bishop of Chur († 548)

Valentian was the 7th bishop of Chur, famous for his charity towards refugees, the needy and prisoners. His feast Day is September 9th (22nd).

Troparion (Tone 1): You were a holy hierarch of the city of Chur and continued the work of St. Lucius by expanding his community and founding a Benedictine monastery for the glory of the Lord and his church. Saint Valentian, pray for our souls.

17G_8928.jpg
 
Hieromärtyrer Lucius, Bischof von Chur († um 180)

Lucius war ein König der Britanni, der seine Heimat verliess, um in Augsburg und Rätien (Graubünden) das Evangelium zu verkünden. Er wurde zum ersten Bischof von Chur geweiht und hat dort für den Glauben gelitten. Gedenktag ist der 2. (15.) Dezember.

Troparion (5. Ton): Dein Leben ward nur dem Herrn ganz bekannt: Ein Leben der Askese und des Gebets führtest du, weit weg von dieser Welt und ihrem eitlen Treiben; du lebtest in einer Grotte und verkündetest das Evangelium, ehe du aufgenommen wardst in die Reihen der Märtyrer. Heiliger Lucius, bitte Christus Gott, unsere Seelen zu erretten!

Pilgerort: Chur

Gebete zum Hl. Lucius und zur Hl. Emerita

Hierarch Ursicinus, Bischof von Chur († 760)

Ursicinus gründete das Kloster Disentis, welches er bis zu seiner Inthronisierung als Bischof von Chur als Abt leitete. Er verzichtete dann aber auf das Bischofsamt und zog sich in seine Einsiedelei zurück. Gedenktag ist der 2. (15.) Oktober.

Troparion (4. Ton): Dein Leben war oft vor den Augen der Welt verborgen: Du lebtest für Gott im Gebet und in der Askese. Du warst Mönch im Kloster Disentis, bevor du die Kathedra in Chur bestiegst und schliesslich allem entsagend Einsiedler wurdest. Heiliger Ursicinus, bete zum Christus, dass Er unsere Seelen errette.


Märtyrerin Emerita von Trimmis († um 170)

Emerita war die Schwester des Hl. Lucius, mit dem sie nach Rätien kam. In Trimmis wurde sie mit Fäusten und Prügeln geschlagen und erlitt das Martyrium durch den Feuertod. Am Ort ihres Martyriums steht heute die Emeritakirche. Gedenktag ist der 4 (17.) Dezember.

Troparion (8. Ton): Schwester des heiligen Bischofs und Märtyrers Christi Lucius: Du warst ein vollkommenes Vorbild der Liebe. Zuerst mit deinem Bruder und dann in Trimmis, wo du Einsiedlerin wurdest. Heilige Emerita, bitte Gott, unsere Seelen zu retten! 

Pilgerort: Chur, Trimmis


Hierarch Asinio (auch: Asimus oder Asimon), Bischof von Chur († 5. Jhd.)

Asinio ist der erste dokumentarisch belegte Bischof von Chur, der in den Akten des Synods von Mailand von 451 als Teilnehmer aufgeführt ist. Sein Gedenktag ist der 9. (24.) Juni.

Troparion (1. Ton): Du warst einer der ersten Hierarchen Graubündens und nahmst teil am Mailänder Konzil, bevor du in Königtum des Herrn eingingst. Du warst ein guter Hirte der orthodoxen Kirche, der seine geistliche Herde zu Christus führte. Heiliger Asinio, bete zu Gott, dass Er errette unsere Seelen.

Hierarch Valentian, Bischof von Chur († 548)

Valentian war der 7. Bischof von Chur, berühmt für seine Mildtätigkeit gegenüber Flüchtlingen, Bedürftigen und Gefangenen. Gedenktag ist der 9. (22.) September.

Troparion (1. Ton): Du warst ein heiliger Hierarch der Stadt Chur und führtest das Werk des heiligen Lucius weiter in dem die Seine Gemeinde grösser machtest und ein Benediktinerkloster gründetest zum Ruhme der Herrn und Seiner Kirche. Heiliger Valentian, bitte für unsere Seelen.