17G_8938.jpg
 
Martyrs of the Theban Legion († 286/288)

Under the Emperor Maximian, the legion was ordered from Thebes to Gaul to quell a revolt. In Agaunum in Valais, the Christian soldiers refused to make the prescribed sacrifices and to participate in the persecution of Christians. The emperor ordered a decimation, but because of the steadfastness of the Christian legionnaires, this had to be continued until the whole legion had suffered martyrdom. The Territorial Abbey of St. Maurice is located on the site of their graves. Their feast day is September 22 (October 5).

The following saints, known by name, can be found on the icon:

Martyr Mauritius (Maurice), Commander of the Legion.
Martyrs Tyrsus, Liberius, Antoninus and  Candidus, officers of the legion

Troparion (Tone 4): Soldier of Christ, You fought a good battle, You refused to pursue the innocent any further. With your companions you gave your life rather than give up your Christian faith. O holy Mauritius, implore the Lord to grant us His great mercy.

Place of pilgrimage: St. Maurice

Prayers to Saint Martyr Mauritius and his Companions


Martyrs Victor and Ursus, Legion officers

Legion officers who managed to flee to Solothurn with a few centuries, but were found there and suffered martyrdom. Their feast day is September 30 (October 13).

Troparion (Tone 6): As survivors of the Theban Legion from Agaunum, you went to preach Christ to all those caught in pagan darkness. Seized by the tyrant and sentenced to death, you were martyred on the banks of the River Aar. Saint Urs and Saint Victor with companions, pray Christ for our souls!

Place of pilgrimage: Solothurn


Martyr Vincentius, Veteran of the Theban Legion

He received Ursus and Viktor in Solothurn and suffered martyrdom with them. Memorial Day is September 30 (October 13).

Place of pilgrimage: Solothurn

17G_8938.jpg
 
Märtyrer der thebäischen Legion († 286/288)

Unter dem Kaiser Maximian wurde die Legion von Theben nach Gallien befohlen, um eine Revolte zu unterdrücken. In Agaunum im Wallis verweigerten die christlichen Soldaten die vorgeschriebenen Opfer und die Beteiligung an Christenverfolgungen. Der Kaiser ordnete eine Dezimierung an, die aber aufgrund der Standhaftigkeit der christlichen Legionäre solange fortgesetzt werden musste, bis die ganze Legion das Martyrium erlitten hatte. Am Ort ihrer Gräber befindet sich heute die Fürstabtei St. Maurice. Ihr Gedenktag ist der 22. September (5. Oktober).

Auf der Ikone finden sich die folgenden namentlich bekannten Heiligen:

Märtyrer Mauritius, Kommandant der Legion.
Märtyrer Tyrsus, Liberius, Antoninus und  Candidus, Offiziere der Legion

Troparion (4. Ton): Soldat Christi, Du schlugst eine gute Schlacht, Du weigertest dich, die Unschuldigen weiter zu verfolgen. Mit deinen Gefährten gabst du lieber dein Leben hin als deinen christlichen Glauben aufzugeben. O heiliger Mauritius, flehe zum Herrn, dass Er uns gewähre sein großes Erbarmen.

Pilgerort: St. Maurice


Märtyrer Victor und Ursus,Offiziere der Legion

Offiziere der Legion, welche mit einigen Zenturien nach Solothurn fliehen konnten, dort aber gefunden wurden und das Martyrium erlitten. Ihr Gedenktag ist der 30. September (13. Oktober).

Troparion (6. Ton): Als Überlebende der Thebäischen Legion aus Agaunum zogt ihr fort, um Christus all jenen zu predigen, die gefangen waren in heidnischer Finsternis. Vom Tyrannen ergriffen und zum Tode verurteilt, wurdet Ihr Märtyrer am Ufer des Flusses Aar. Heiliger Urs und heiliger Viktor mit Gefährten, bittet Christus für unsere Seelen!

Pilgerort: Solothurn


Märtyrer Vincentius, Veteran der thebäischen Legion

Er nahm Ursus und Viktor in Solothurn auf und erlitt mit ihnen das Martyrium . Gedenktag ist der 30. September (13. Oktober).

Pilgerort: Solothurn