17G_8951.jpg
 
Hierarch Nikolaj Velimirovic, Bishop of Ohrid and Žica (died 1956)

Nikolaj was born in 1880 in the Serbian mountain village of Lelic. In 1908 he received his doctorate in theology from the Old Catholic Faculty in Bern. He defended his doctorate in philosophy in Geneva in 1909. In the same year he was ordained a monk. From 1919 he was bishop of Žica and was very popular with the people. During World War II he was deported to the Dachau concentration camp. After emigrating to the USA, he taught at various orthodox seminaries. His popular writings testify to a deep, patristic spirit with an immediate, high wisdom. His observances are March 5 (18) and April 20 (May 3).

Troparion (Tone 8): O golden-tongued preacher proclaiming the risen Christ, everlasting guide of the cross-bearing Serbian people, resounding harp of the Holy Spirit, and dear to monastics who rejoice in you, pride and boast of the priesthood, teacher of repentance, master for all nations, guide of those in the army of Christ as they pray to God, holy Nicholas teacher in America and pride of the Serbian people, with all the saints, implore the only Lover of mankind to grant us peace and joy in his heavenly kingdom!

Venerable Fintan (also: Findanus) of Rheinau († 878)

Fintan was an Irish itinerant monk. In Scotland, he lived as a hermit among the Picts in 845. Later he served as a nobleman in Alemannia. On the Upper Rhine, he entered the Rheinau monastery near today's Schaffhausen and lived there as a hermit. His relics are in the Rheinau monastery. His feast day is November 15 (28).

Troparion (Tone 7): You son of a noble family from Ireland, you lost all your relatives and became a slave. You were caught, but in Scotland you managed to escape and be free. Then you made a pilgrimage from Italy to Swabia before becoming a hermit in Switzerland. Holy Fintan, ask Christ God to save our souls!

Place of pilgrimage: Rheinau

Hieromartyr Victor of Tomils († 9th century)

Victor was a priest in Tomils and throughout the valley of Domleschg. He owned a vineyard near the castle of Ortenstein, which he inherited from his father. A count challenged him for this inheritance, and during a discussion, Viktor accused the count of his bad life, whereupon the count had him beheaded. But Victor stood, lifted up his head and walked away. He stopped on a small hill below the count's castle where he died. His feast day is May 8 (21).

Place of pilgrimage: Tomils / Cazis

Hierarch Pirmin von Reichenau († 753) 

Pirmin's exact origin remains uncertain. He was of Gothic, Romanesque or Iro-Scottish descent. In Meaux he was ordained a missionary bishop and travelled to Switzerland among other places. He founded the Pfungen monastery near Winterthur and in 724 the Mittelzell monastery, which is located on the Bodensee island of Reichenau. He is also said to have founded the Pfäfers monastery near Chur. He is considered an apostle of faith to Alsace, southern Germany and northern German-speaking Switzerland. He died in his Hornbach monastery. His feast day is November 3 (16).

Venerable Pontius († 6th century)

Pontius came with brethren from St. Claude to the Joux Valley, where he settled as a hermit in what is now Le Lieu. He is considered the patron saint of several villages in the Jura. No special day of remembrance.

Venerable Wandregisil (also: Wandrille or Wando) († 673)

Wandregisil came from a noble family in the Verdun area. At a young age, he came to the royal court of Dagobert I, where he was highly regarded for his charity and humility. At first, he lived with his wife in a celibate marriage; later both entered a monastery. He was tonsured as a monk around 630 in Montfaucon Abbey. Then he went to the monastery of Bobbio. He also served in the monastery of St. Romanus and Lupicinus and lived an ascetic life in the Jura for ten years. The foundations of the monasteries of Fontenelle and Saint-Ursanne go back to him. Some of his relics are now in the revived monastery of St. Wandrille. His feast day is July 22 (August 4)

Hierarch John the Wonderworker, Archbishop of Shanghai and San Francisco (died 1966)

Johannes was born in what is now Ukraine in 1896. From an early age, he was admired for his high spirituality in Serbia, where he taught at various religious institutions. He was ordained bishop of Shanghai. As “Duchovnik” (spiritual father of an entire region), he tirelessly gave comfort and healing to people in hospitals, homes and churches throughout China. Before taking over the diocese of San Francisco as archbishop, he led and was very active in the diocese of Western Europe, which includes Switzerland. He is known to have served in the Church of St. Barbara in Vevey and the Protection of the Virgin Mary in Zurich. He is revered by the faithful as a great miracle worker. His memorial day is April 19.
June (2 July).

Tropar (Tone 5): Lo, thy care for thy flock in its sojourn prefigured the supplications which thou doest ever offer up for the whole world. Thus do we believe, having come to know thy love, O holy hierarch and wonderworker John. Wholly sanctified by God through the ministry of the all-pure Mysteries, and thyself ever strengthened thereby, thou didst hasten unto the suffering, O most gladsome healer. Hasten now also to the aid of us who honor thee with all our heart.

Place of pilgrimage: Zurich , Vevey

17G_8951.jpg
 
Hierarch Nikolaj Velimirovic, Bischof von Ochrid und Žica († 1956)

Nikolaj kam 1880 im serbischen Bergdorf Lelic zur Welt. 1908 promovierte er in Theologie an der altkatholischen Fakultät in Bern. Seinen Doktortitel in Philosophie verteidigte er 1909 in Genf. Im selben Jahr erhielt er die Mönchsweihe. Ab dem Jahr 1919 war er Bischof von Žica und beim Volk sehr beliebt. Während des 2. Weltkrieges wurde er ins KZ Dachau deportiert. Nach der Emigration in die USA lehrte er an verschiedenen orthodoxen Seminaren. Seine beliebten Schriften zeugen von einem tiefen, patristischen Geist mit einer unmittelbaren, hohen Weisheit. Seine Gedenktage sind der 5. (18.) März und der 20. April (3. Mai).

Ehrwürdiger Fintan (auch: Findanus) von Rheinau († 878)

Fintan war ein irischer Wandermönch. In Schottland lebte er 845 unter den Pikten als Einsiedler. Später diente er in Alemannien einem Adeligen. Am Oberrhein trat er ins Kloster Rheinau in der Nähe vom heutigen Schaffhausen ein und lebte dort als Klausner. Seine Reliquien befinden sich im Kloster Rheinau. Sein Gedenktag ist der 15. (28.) November.

Troparion (7. Ton): Du Sohn einer vornehmen Familie aus Irland, all deine Angehörigen verlorest Du und wurdest zum Sklaven. Du wardst gefangen, doch in Schottland gelang es dir, zu entkommen und frei zu sein. Sodann pilgertest du von Italien nach Schwaben, ehe du Einsiedler wardst in der Schweiz. Heiliger Fintan, bitte Christus Gott, unsere Seelen zu erretten!

Pilgerort: Rheinau

Hieromärtyrer Viktor von Tomils († 9. Jhd.)

Victor war Priester in Tomils und im ganzen Domleschg. In der Nähe der Burg Ortenstein besass er einen Weinberg, den er von seinem Vater geerbt hatte. Ein Graf machte ihm dieses Erbe streitig, und während einer Diskussion hielt Viktor dem Grafen sein schlechtes Leben vor, worauf dieser ihn von zwei seiner Soldaten enthaupten liess. Victor blieb aber stehen, hob seinen Kopf auf und ging davon. Auf einem kleinen Hügel unterhalb der Grafenburg blieb er stehen und verstarb. Sein Gedenktag ist der 8. (21.) Mai.

Pilgerort: Tomils / Cazis

Hierarch Pirmin von Reichenau († 753)              

Pirmins genaue Herkunft bleibt bis heute ungewiss. Er war gotischer, romanischer oder iroschottischer Abstammung. In Meaux wurde er zum Missionsbischof geweiht, als welcher er unter anderem ins Gebiet der Schweiz reiste. Er gründete das Kloster Pfungen in der Nähe von Winterthur und im Jahre 724 das Kloster Mittelzell, das sich auf der Bodenseeinsel Reichenau befindet. Weitere Klostergründungen folgten. Auch soll er das Kloster Pfäfers bei Chur gegründet haben. Er gilt als Glaubensbote des Elsass, Süddeutschlands und der nördlichen Deutschschweiz. Er starb in seinem Kloster Hornbach. Sein Gedenktag ist der 3. (16.) November.

Ehrwürdiger Pontius († 6 Jhd.)

Pontius kam mit Mitbrüdern aus St. Claude ins Joux-Tal, wo er sich im heutigen Le Lieu in einer Einsiedelei niederliess. In einigen Dörfern des Juras gilt er als Schutzpatron. Kein eigener Gedenktag.

Ehrwürdiger Wandregisil (auch: Wandrille oder Wando) († 673)

Wandregisil kam aus einer vornehmen Familie aus dem Gebiet um Verdun. In jungen Jahren kam er an den königlichen Hof von Dagobert I., wo er für seine Nächstenliebe und Demut sehr geschätzt wurde. Zuerst lebte er mit seiner Gattin in einer enthaltsamen Ehe; später traten beide in ein Kloster ein. Er wurde um 630 in der Abtei Montfaucon zum Mönch geweiht. Danach begab er sich ins Kloster Bobbio. Auch führte er im Kloster des hl. Romanus und Lupicinus auf dem Jura zehn Jahre lang ein asketisches Leben. Die Gründungen der Klöster Fontenelle und Saint-Ursanne gehen auf ihn zurück. Ein Teil seiner Reliquien befinden sich heute im wiederbelebten Kloster St. Wandrille. Sein Gedenktag ist der 22. Juli (4. August)

Hierarch Johannes der Wundertäter, Erzbischof von Shanghai und San Francisco († 1966)

Johannes wurde 1896 in der heutigen Ukraine geboren. Schon in seinen jungen Jahren wurde er in Serbien, wo er an verschiedenen geistlichen Institutionen lehrte, für seine hohe Geistlichkeit bewundert. Er wurde zum Bischof von Shanghai geweiht. Als “Duchovnik” (geistlicher Vater einer ganzen Region) spendete er den Menschen in Spitälern, in den Heimen und Kirchen in ganz China unermüdlich Trost und Heilung. Bevor er als Erzbischof die Diözese in San Francisco übernahm, leitete er die Diözese Westeuropas – zu der auch die Schweiz gehört – und war auch in ihr sehr aktiv. Verbürgt sind Liturgien in der Kirche der Hl. Barbara in Vevey und Mariä Schutz in Zürich. Er wird von den Gläubigen als grosser Wundertäter verehrt. Sein Gedenktag ist der 19.
Juni (2. Juli).

Pilgerort: Zürich, Vevey