Ikone18.png
 
Martyr Sigismund, King of the Burgundians († 524)

Sigismund led his kingdom from Arianism to Orthodoxy. In 515 he founded the Abbey of Saint Maurice in Agaunum. Beset more and more by internal and external enemies, he wanted to retire to the abbey, but was defeated by Closimir, king of the Franks. Because he and his family fell into a well in Coulmiers, Sigismund is revered as a martyr. Sigismund was buried in St. John's Chapel of Saint Maurice Abbey. His feast day is May 1st (14th).

Troparion (Tone 4): O Holy King and Martyr Sigismund, by your example you lead us on the path of repentance and show us the mercy of Christ. You open the gates of paradise for us and lead us home into the arms of the loving Father. Pray for us to the Father of Mercy that He grants salvation to our souls! 

Place of pilgrimage: St. Maurice


St. Klothilde, Queen of the Franks († 545)

Klothilde grew up with her uncle in Geneva and became the wife of Clovis, King of the Franks, whom she converted to the Orthodox faith. She thus played a decisive role in the fact that the Frankish kingdom did not profess the Arianism that was common among the Germanic tribes at the time. Her feast day is June 3rd (16th).

Troparion (Tone 1): Being Clovis's wife, whom you converted, you became a widow and saw your sons tear each other apart. Then you withdrew to Tours to the tomb of the holy Bishop Martin and ended your life in the peace of the Lord. Saint Queen Klothilde, pray to Him for our salvation.

Hierarch John of Arbon († around 650)

Johannes was a Rhaetian and initially a deacon in Grabs, where Gall met him on his flight from Tuggen. John became Gall most keen student. In 615, he became Bishop of Constance. No special feast day.

Hierarch Ragnacharius (also: Raganachar or Rachanas), Bishop of Basel († 7th century)

Ragnacharius was a student of Eustasius of Luxeuil and a messenger of the faith of the Raurians. Ragnacharius was bishop of Augst and Basel in the 7th century. His feast day is March 29 (April 11).

Troparion (Tone 5): While working for the worldly glory of the Lord, you haveapproached the kingdom of God. As a monk of the great Columbanus in Luxeuil, you left the monastery at the Lord's call to occupy the cathedra of Basel. Saint Ragnacharius, pray to God for our salvation.


Hierarch Theodul (also Theodor), first bishop of Octodurum († 391)

Theodul was the first bishop of Octodurum (Martigny) in Valais and an acquaintance of St. Ambrose of Milan. There is evidence that he took part in the synod of Aquileia in 381 and probably in Milan in 389/390. He found the bones of the Holy Martyrs of the Theban Legion and had a basilica built for them in Agaunum. His feast day is August 16 (29).

Troparion (Tone 1): O ye faithful, let us sing the praises of the hierarch Theodul. He proclaimed the faith in Christ in this country, he found the relics of the holy martyrs and had a church built for them in Agaunum. Through his fervent supplications and prayers before the throne of the Most High, may God grant our souls to be saved.

Place of pilgrimage: Sitten / Sion

Hierarch Salonius, Bishop of Geneva († 475)

Salonius was the son of St. Eucherius, Bishop of Lyon. Educated on the island of Lérins, he became Bishop of Geneva. As such, he is attested as a participant in some councils and synods in Gaul. Salonius was a gifted spiritual writer; among his works is a notable commentary on Proverbs and Ecclesiastes. His feast day is September 28 (October 11).

Troparion (4th tone): At age ten, you went to Lérins and laboured under the guidance of Saint Honorat; Saints Hilarius and Vincent you had as masters. You were the hierarch of the city of Geneva and led the Church with great wisdom. Saint Salonius, pray to the Lord Christ for our souls!

Hierarch Felix, first bishop of Como († 4th century)

Felix was a friend of St. Ambrose of Milan, who praised him for his missionary efforts and ordained him the first bishop of Como in 386. His feast day is July 14 (27).

Venerable Amatus (also: Amé or Amet), Abbot of Remiremont († 627)

Born into a noble family from Grenoble, Amatus came to the monastery of St. Maurice at the age of ten, where he attended the monastery school and later became a monk and priest. Before he went to the Luxeuil monastery, he lived in Valais for a few years as a hermit in asceticism. He later became abbot of Remiremont. Memorial Day is September 13 (26).

Troparion (4th tone): From childhood, you lived in the holy monastery where the relics of the martyrs of Agaunum rest. As a hermit, you climbed up to the Grotte du Scex before going to Luxeuil and Remiremont to found new communities. Holy Amatus, pray Christ to have mercy on us!


Hierarch Abundius (also: Abbondio or Abundantius), Bishop of Como († 4th / 5th century)

Abundius was born in Thessalonica and was the fourth bishop of Como. As such, he attended the first Council of Constantinople and played an active role as the representative of Leo the Great at the Council of Chalcedon. His feast day is April 2nd (15th).

Ikone18.png
 
Märtyrer Sigismund, König der Burgunder († 524)

Sigismund führte sein Königreich aus dem Arianismus in die Orthodoxie. 515 gründete er die Abtei Saint Maurice in Agaunum. Immer stärker durch innere und äussere Feinde bedrängt, wollte er sich in die Abtei zurückziehen, wurde aber vom Frankenkönig Chlosimir besiegt. Da dieser ihn und seine Familie in Coulmiers in einen Brunnen stürzen liess, wird Sigismund als Märtyrer verehrt. Sigismund wurde in der Johanneskapelle der Abtei Saint Maurice begraben. Gedenktag ist der 1. (14.) Mai.

Troparion (4. Ton): O Heiliger König und Märtyrer Sigismund, durch dein Beispiel führst du uns auf den Weg der Buße und zeigst uns die Barmherzigkeit Christi. Die Pforten des Paradieses öffnest du uns und führst uns heim in die Arme des liebenden Vaters. Bitte für uns beim Vater des Erbarmens, dass Er unseren Seelen das Heil gewähre! 

Pilgerort: St. Maurice


Hl. Klothilde, Königin der Franken († 545)

Klothilde ist bei ihrem Onkel in Genf aufgewachsen und wurde die Frau des Frankenkönigs Chlodwig, den sie zum orthodoxen Glauben bekehrte. Damit spielte sie eine entscheidende Rolle dabei, dass das Frankenreich sich nicht zum damals unter den germanischen Stämmen üblichen Arianismus bekannte. Gedenktag ist der 3. (16.) Juni.

Hierarch Johannes von Arbon († um 650)

Johannes war Rätier und zunächst Diakon in Grabs, wo Gallus auf der Flucht mit ihm zusammentraf. Johannes wurde Gallus eifrigster Schüler. 615 wurde er Bischof von Konstanz. Kein eigener Gedenktag.

Hierarch Ragnacharius (auch: Raganachar oder Rachanas), Bischof von Basel († 7. Jhd.)

Ragnacharius war ein Schüler des Eustasius von Luxeuil und Glaubensbote der Rauri-er. Ragnacharius war im 7. Jahrhundert Bischof von Augst und Basel. Gedenktag ist der 29. März (11. April).


Hierarch Theodul (auch Theodor), erster Bischof von Octodurum († 391)

Theodul war der erste Bischof von Octodurum (Martigny) im Wallis und ein Bekannter des Hl. Ambrosius von Mailand. Er nahm nachweislich 381 an der Synode von Aquileia und wahrscheinlich 389/390 an der in Mailand teil. Er fand die Gebeine der Hl. Märtyrer der thebäischen Legion und liess für sie in Agaunum eine Basilika bauen. Gedenktag ist der 16. (29.) August.

Troparion (1. Ton): Ihr Gläubigen, lasset uns besingen den Hierarchen Theodul. Er verkündete hierzulande Glauben an Christus, er fand die Reliquien der heiligen Märtyrer wieder und ließ ihnen in Agaunum eine Kirche errichten. Durch sein inniges Flehen und seine Gebete vor dem Throne des Höchsten möge Gott gewähren, dass unsere Seelen errettet werden.

Anderes Troparion (1. Ton): Der erste Hierarch von Octodurum wurdest du und nahmst mit dem heiligen Ambrosius teil an den Konzilien von Aquileia und Mailand. Durch dich wurden die Reliquien der heiligen Märtyrer von Agaunum entdeckt und verehrt, und du warst es auch, der sie den Gläubigen bekannt machte. Heiliger Theodor, bitte Gott, unsere Seelen zu erretten!

Pilgerort: Sitten / Sion

Hierarch Salonius, Bischof von Genf († 475)

Salonius war der Sohn des Hl. Eucherius, des Bischofs von Lyon. Ausgebildet auf der Insel Lérins wurde er Bischof von Genf. Als solcher ist er als Teilnehmer einiger Konzilien und Synoden in Gallien bezeugt. Salonius war ein begnadeter geistlicher Schriftsteller, vor allem eines Kommentars der Sprüche und des Ecclesiastes. Gedenktag ist der 28. September (11. Oktober).

Troparion (4. Ton): Im Alter von zehn Jahren gingst du nach Lérins und mühtest dich unter der Leitung des heiligen Honorat, und die Heiligen Hilarius und Vincent hattest du als Meister. Du warst Hierarch der Stadt Genf und leitetest die Kirche mit großer Weisheit. Heiliger Salonius, bitte den Herrn Christus um unserer Seelen willen!

Hierarch Felix, erster Bischof von Como († 4. Jhd.)

Felix war ein Freund des Hl. Ambrosius von Mailand, der ihn für seine missionarischen Anstrengungen lobte und im Jahre 386 zum ersten Bischof von Como weihte. Gedenktag ist der 1. (14.) Juli.

Ehrwürdiger Amatus (auch: Amé oder Amet), Abt von Remiremont († 627)

Als Kind einer noblen Familie aus Grenoble kam Amatus im Alter von zehn Jahren ins Kloster St. Maurice, wo er die Klosterschule besuchte und später Mönch und Priester wurde. Bevor er sich ins Kloster Luxeuil begab, lebte er im Wallis einige Jahre als Eremit in Askese. Später wurde er Abt von Remiremont. Gedenktag ist der 13. (26.) September.

Troparion (1. Ton): Ausgebildet wurdest du im Kloster von Agaunum, und mit 30 Jahren verließest Du es, um Einsiedler zu werden in einer Grotte, gelegen am Felshang; darauf warst du in Luxeuil und Remiremont, wo du die Bürde des Bischofsamtes auf dich nehmen musstest. Heiliger Amatus, bitte für unser Heil!

Troparion (4. Ton): Von Kindheit an lebtest du im heiligen Kloster, wo die Reliquien der Märtyrer von Agaunum ruhen. Als Einsiedler stiegst du empor zur Grotte du Scex, ehe du nach Luxeuil und Remiremont gingst, um neue Gemeinschaften zu gründen. Heiliger Amatus, bitte Christus, Er möge sich unser erbarmen!


Hierarch Abundius(auch: Abbondio oder Abundantius), Bischof von Como († 4. / 5. Jhd)

Abundius wurde in Thessalonica geboren und war der vierte Bischof von Como. Als solcher nahm er am ersten Konzil von Konstantinopel teil und spielte als Vertreter von Leo dem Grossen eine aktive Rolle am Konzil von Chalcedon. Gedenktag ist der 2. (15.) April.