17G_8975.jpg

 

Apostle Barnabas († 61)

The apostle Barnabas is counted among the 70 disciples called by Jesus. He was born into a wealthy Cypriot family of Jewish origin under the name Joseph. He received his education together with Saul, later Paul, in Jerusalem. Among the disciples of Jesus, he was distinguished by his middle name - Barnabas (transl.: Son of Consolation). He accompanied Paul on several missionary journeys. He also took part in the first apostolic council. According to tradition, his sphere of activity included northern Italy, where he baptised the first Christians in Milan. Since Ticino received the Gospel from north Italy (Milan and Como), it is considered the child of St. Barnabas. The apostle Barnabas was martyred in Cyprus. His memorial day is June 11 (24).

Troparion (Tone 3): Holy Apostles Bartholomew and Barnabas, Entreat the merciful God to grant our souls forgiveness of transgressions.

 

Hierarch Protasius, Bishop of Lausanne († 646) 

Protasius was bishop of Lausanne in the first half of the 7th century. His virtue and love of science distinguished him. Protasius approved and supported the founding of the monastery at Baulmes near Yverdon. He died while procuring wood for the construction of Lausanne Cathedral in the Jura mountains near Bière. From there his body was brought to Basuges, where he was buried in a chapel dedicated to the Virgin Mary. The place was later named St. Prex after him. A basilica was built there in his honor in the 9th century. His memorial day is November 6 (19).

Troparion (Tone 5): Saint Protasius, when you were young, you became a priest and persevered in asceticism and prayer, practising charity in the name of the Lord. You were found worthy of becoming a bishop and an ornament of the diocese of Lausanne. Pray to our Lord Christ to save our souls!

 

Troparion (5th tone): Humble hierarch, you dedicated yourself to your diocese and led a godly life hidden in God. From Burgundy, you came into the Swiss lands, and you rebuilt the church of Lausanne, and thus entered the kingdom of the Lord. Therefore, saint Protasius implore Christ to save our souls!

 

Hierarch Marius, Bishop of Lausanne ( † 594)

Marius was born in the Diocese of Autun. In 574, he became bishop of Avenches. Since Avenches was exposed to the constant threat of the Alemanni, he moved the bishopric to Lausanne. Marius was a skilled goldsmith who made liturgical utensils for his churches himself. He was a protector and benefactor of the poor and oppressed, a man of prayer and an enthusiastic scholar. As a continuation of the historical work of Prosper Tiro, Marius wrote a chronicle which is considered very reliable for his time. After his death, he was venerated as a saint in his diocese in Lausanne. His memorial day is December 31 (January 13).  

Troparion (Tone 6): O Saint Marius, you came from the city of Autun and became bishop of Avenches in Burgundy. When the barbarians destroyed the city, you went into exile to become bishop of Lausanne and the embodiment of charity for your faithful. Hierarch of Christ, ask Him to save our souls!

 

Venerable Fridolin of Säckingen († 530-540)

Fridolin was an Irish itinerant monk. He first proselytized in many places in Ireland. Later, Fridolin travelled to Gaul, where he visited the burial church of Saint Hilarius in Poitiers, which had been destroyed during the migration of peoples. Fridolin buried the relics found in the rubble and built a new church. St. Hilarius visited him in a vision and instructed him to go to what is now the Rhine peninsula of Säckingen, to the east of Basel. On the journey there - via Strasbourg, Constance to Chur through Alemannia - Fridolin built many churches and monasteries in many places in honour of St. Hilarius. In Säckingen, he founded the oldest southern German monastery. Fridolin worked great miracles in the canton of Glarus and built several churches to St. Hilarius, hence the name of today's canton - Glarus. His memorial day is March 6 (19).

Place of pilgrimage: Bad Säckingen

 

Hierarch Hilarius, Bishop of Poitiers († 367) 

Hilarius was born in Poitiers and probably the city's first bishop. His philosophical studies led him to believe in Christ. As a bishop, he opposed Arianism and was one of the foremost defenders of orthodoxy in the Western Church. Slandered by Arian-friendly bishops at the synod in Béziers before Emperor Constantine II, he was banished to Phrygia in Asia Minor. In 360 he was allowed to return to Poitiers and in 361, he took part in the synod in Paris. There he was finally able to get the Arian bishops deposed in Gaul. Some authors see in the gentleness and steadfastness of St. Hilarius one of the reasons for the anti-Arian revolution in Gaul. As a Latin Church Father, he is also held in high esteem in the Orthodox Church. Through Fridolin, Hilarius is connected to the canton of Glarus. His memorial day is January 13 (26).

Troparion (Tone 4): In truth you were revealed to your flock as a rule of faith, an image of humility and a teacher of abstinence; your humility exalted you; your poverty enriched you.  Hierarch Father Hilary, entreat Christ our God that our souls may be saved.

 

Venerable Sigisbert († mid 8th century) 

According to tradition, the Frank Sigisbert was a student of the Irish itinerant monk Columbanus. Before Sigisbert set out on his travels, he lived in the Luxeuil Abbey founded by Columbanus. Sigisbert settled in what is now Disentis in a secluded spot as a hermit. With the support of the Churrati Placidus, he founded a monastery around the year 700. After his death, he was buried next to his friend Placidus. Early on, their graves became famous for miracles. His memorial day is July 11 (24).

Troparion (Tone 5): Saint Sigisbert, you founded a pious monastery in Grison and converted Placidus with your preaching. Having angered the governor, o Placidus, you were crowned a martyr. Hiving departed in peace, O Sigisbert, you followed your companion. Ye saints pray to Christ our God that He grant us great mercy!

Place of pilgrimage: Disentis

 

Martyr Placidus († middle of the 8th century)

Placidus was a landowner who was converted to Christianity through a sermon by the Venerable Sigisbert. From then on, he worked for the Disentis monastery. Placidus defended himself against the unlawful behaviour of the governor Victor von Chur and his actions against the monastery's property. The governor saw the independence of Churraetia endangered by the activities of the Disentis saints and had Placidus murdered. His memorial day is July 11 (24).

Troparion (Tone 5): Saint Sigisbert, you founded a holy monastery in Grison and converted Placidus with your preaching. Having angered the governor, o Placidus, you were crowned a martyr. Hiving departed in peace, O Sigisbert, you followed your companion. Ye saints entreat Christ our God to grant us great mercy!

Place of pilgrimage: Disentis

17G_8975.jpg

 

Apostel Barnabas († 61)

Der Apostel Barnabas wird zum Kreis der 70 von Jesus berufenen Jünger gezählt. In Zypern wurde er unter dem Namen Joseph in eine reiche, jüdische Familie hineingeboren. Seine Ausbildung erhielt er zusammen mit Saulus, dem späteren Paulus, in Jerusalem. Unter den Jüngern Jesu erhielt er seinen Zweitnamen - Barnabas (übers.: Sohn des Trostes). Mit Paulus führte er mehrere Missionsreisen durch. Auch nahm er am ersten Apostelkonzil teil. Zu seinem Wirkungsraum gehörte gemäss der Tradition auch Norditalien, wo er die ersten Christen in Mailand taufte. Da das Tessin das Evangelium von Norditalien (Mailand und Como) aus erhalten hat, betrachtet man es als Kind des Hl.. Barnabas. Der Apostel Barnabas starb in Zypern als Märtyrer. Sein Gedenktag ist der 11. (24.) Juni.

 

Hierarch Protasius, Bischof von Lausanne († 646) 

Protasius war in der ersten Hälfte des 7. Jhd. Bischof von Lausanne. Er zeichnete sich durch seine Tugend und Liebe zur Wissenschaft aus. Protasius genehmigte und unterstützte die Gründung des Klosters in Baulmes bei Yverdon. Er starb bei der Beschaffung von Holz für den Bau der Kathedrale von Lausanne im Juragebirge in der Nähe von Bière. Von dort brachte man seinen Leib nach Basuges, wo er in einer Marienkapelle bestattet wurde. Der Ort wurde später nach ihm St. Prex benannt. Im 9. Jhd. wurde dort ihm zu Ehren eine Basilika errichtet. Sein Gedenktag ist der 6. (19.) November.

Troparion (5. Ton): Heiliger Protasius, in jungen Jahren wurdest du Priester und verharrtest in Askese und Gebet, Nächstenliebe übend im Namen des Herrn. Du wudrets würdig befunden, Bischof zu werden, und zur Zierde der Diözese Lausanne. Flehe zu unserem Herrn Christus, dass Er unsere Seelen errette!

 

Troparion (5. Ton): Demütiger Hierarch, du widmetest dich deiner Diözese und führtest in Gott verborgen ein frommes Leben. Aus Burgund kamst du in die Schweizer Lande, und die Kirche von Lausanne erbautest du neu und gelangtest so in das Königtum des Herrn. Heiliger Protasius, flehe zu Christus, dass Er unsere Seelen errette!

 

Hierarch Marius, Bischof von Lausanne ( † 594)

Marius wurde in der Diözese Autun geboren. Im Jahre 574 wurde er Bischof von Avenches. Da Avenches der andauernden Bedrohung durch die Alemannen ausgesetzt war, verlegte er den Bischofssitz nach Lausanne. Marius war ein geschickter Goldschmied, der für seine Kirchen die liturgischen Geräte eigenhändig herstellte. Er war ein Beschützer und Wohltäter der Armen und Bedrückten; ein Mann des Gebets und ein enthusiastischer Gelehrter. So verfasste Marius eine für seine Zeit sehr zuverlässige Chronik als Fortsetzung des Geschichtswerkes des Prosper Tiro. Nach seinem Tod wurde er in seiner Diözese in Lausanne als Heiliger verehrt. Sein Gedenktag ist der 31. Dezember (13. Januar).  

Troparion (6. Ton): O heiliger Marius, aus der Stadt Autun kamst du und wurdest Bischof von Avenches in Burgund. Als die Barbaren die Stadt zerstörten, gingst du ins Exil, um Bischof von Lausanne zu werden und zur Verkörperung der Nächstenliebe für deine Göäubigen. Hierarch Christi, bitte Ihn, unsere Seelen zu erretten!

 

Ehrwürdiger Fridolin von Säckingen († 530-540)

Fridolin war ein irischer Wandermönch. Er missionierte zunächst an vielen Orten Irlands. Später reiste Fridolin nach Gallien, wo er in Poitiers die Grabeskirche des Heiligen Hilarius aufsuchte, die im Verlaufe der Völkerwanderung zerstört worden war. Fridolin bestattete die in den Trümmern gefundenen Reliquien und erbaute eine neue Hilariuskirche. Anschliessend erschien ihm der hl. Hilarius in einer Vision und wies ihn an, sich auf die heutige Rhein-Halbinsel Säckingen – östlich von Basel – zu begeben. Auf der Reise dorthin – über Strassburg, Konstanz bis nach Chur durch Alemannien – errichtete Fridolin an vielen Orten Hilariuskirchen und Klöster. In Säckingen gründete er das älteste süddeutsche Kloster.

Im Kanton Glarus wirkte Fridolin grosse Wunder und erbaute mehrere Hilariuskirchen, daher auch der Name des heutigen Kantons – Glarus. Seine Gebeine befinden sich im Fridolinsmünster in Bad Säckingen in einem Silberschrein, der alljährlich in einer grossen Festprozession durch die Stadt getragen wird. Sein Gedenktag ist der 6. (19.) März.

Pilgerort: Bad Säckingen

 

Hierarch Hilarius, Bischof von Poitiers († 367) 

Hilarius wurde in Poitiers geboren und war vermutlich der erste Bischof dieser Stadt. Seine philosophischen Studien führten ihn zum Glauben an Christus. Als Bischof bekämpfte er den Arianismus und war einer der herausragendsten Verteidiger der Orthodoxie in der westlichen Kirche. Von arianerfreundlichen Bischöfen an der Synode in Béziers bei Kaiser Konstantin II. verleumdet, wurde er nach Phrygien in Kleinasien verbannt. Im Jahre 360 durfte er nach Poitiers zurückkehren und nahm 361 an der Synode in Paris teil. Dort konnte er schliesslich die Absetzung der arianischen Bischöfe in Gallien durchsetzen. Manche Autoren sehen in der Sanftmut und zugleich Standhaftigkeit des Hilarius einen Grund für den antiarianischen Umschwung in Gallien. Als lateinischer Kirchenvater wird er auch in der orthodoxen Kirche hoch geschätzt. Bischof Hilarius ist über den hl. Fridolin mit dem Kanton Glarus verbunden. Sein Gedenktag ist der 13. (26.) Januar.

 

Ehrwürdiger Sigisbert († Mitte des 8. Jhd.) 

Gemäss der Überlieferung war der Franke Sigisbert ein Schüler des irischen Wandermönchs Kolumban. Bevor sich Sigisbert auf Wanderschaft machte, lebte er im von Kolumban gegründeten Kloster Luxeuil. Sigisbert liess sich im heutigen Disentis an einer abgeschiedenen Stelle als Einsiedler nieder. Mit der Unterstützung des Churrätiers Placidus, gründete er später um das Jahr 700 ein Kloster. Nach seinem Tod wurde er neben seinem Freund Placidus bestattet. Ihre Gräber erhielten früh den Ruf der Wundertätigkeit. Sein Gedenktag ist der 11. (24.) Juli.

Troparion (5. Ton): Heiliger Sigisbert, in Graubünden hast du ein frommes Kloster gegründet und durch deine Predigt den Placidus bekehrt. Den Statthalter erzürntest du und wurdest ein Märtyrer, o Placidus. Und du entschliefest in Frieden, o Sigisbert und folgtest so deinem Gefährten nach. Ihr Heiligen bittet bei Christus unserem Gott, das Er uns gewähre das große Erbarmen!

Pilgerort: Disentis

 

Märtyrer Placidus († Mitte des 8. Jhd.)

Placidus war ein Gutsbesitzer, der durch eine Predigt des ehrwürdigen Sigisbert zum Christentum bekehrt wurde. Fortan setzte er sich für das Kloster Disentis ein. So wehrte sich Placidus gegen unrechtmässiges Verhalten des Statthalters Victor von Chur und dessen Vorgehen gegen den klösterlichen Besitz. Der Statthalter sah durch die Aktivitäten der Disentiser Heiligen die Selbstständigkeit Churrätiens gefährdet und liess Placidus ermorden. Sein Gedenktag ist der 11. (24.) Juli.

Troparion (5. Ton): Heiliger Sigisbert, in Graubünden hast du ein frommes Kloster gegründet und durch deine Predigt den Placidus bekehrt. Den Statthalter erzürntest du und wurdest ein Märtyrer, o Placidus. Und du entschliefest in Frieden, o Sigisbert und folgtest so deinem Gefährten nach. Ihr Heiligen bittet bei Christus unserem Gott, das Er uns gewähre das große Erbarmen!

Pilgerort: Disentis